Skip to main content

Celebrating 60 years of the Terzaghi Lecture

Stylized portrait of Karl Terzaghi in a frame. The top of the frame is a banner with the G-I shield and text "60th Anniversary". Bottom of frame reads "Karl Terzaghi Lecture Established 1963"

The beginning of the Terzaghi Lecture

In the late 1950s, the predecessor of the Geo-Institute -- ASCE's Soil Mechanics and Foundations Division -- and the friends and admirers of Dr. Karl Terzaghi established the Karl Terzaghi Lecture. The Lecture was instituted by the ASCE Board of Direction in 1960 and, in 1963, the first Lecture was delivered by a student of Terzaghi's: Ralph B. Peck, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE.

In 2023, the Geo-Institute will mark the 60th anniversary of the first Terzaghi Lecture.

About the Lecturers

The Terzaghi Lecture is sponsored by the Geo-Institute. The Lecturer is chosen by the G-I Board of Governors on the basis of the candidate's continuing contributions to the technical and/or professional stature of geotechnical engineering as reflected in publications, professional standing and, particularly, on the ability to communicate verbally with both technical specialists and the civil engineering profession as a whole.

Nominate a candidate

Nominations are due by June 1 for the next year's Lectureship.

About the Lectures

Some of the Lectures are available in the ASCE Library, including a special collection compiled in 2016.

A selection of recent Lectures are available on the G-I YouTube channel

The Lecturers

1963: Ralph B. Peck, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE

1964: Arthur Casagrande, Ph.D., Hon.M.ASCE

1966: Lauritis Bjerrum, Ph.D.

1967:  H. Bolton Seed, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE

1968:  Philip C. Rutledge, D.Sc., NAE, F.ASCE

1969:  Stanley D. Wilson, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1970: T. William Lambe, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1971: John Lowe, III, P.E., NAE, F.ASCE

1972: Bramlette Mcclelland, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1974: F.E. Richart, Jr., PhD., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1975: G. G. Meyerhof, Ph.D., F.ASCE

1976: Lymon C. Reese, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1977: Robert F. Legget, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1978: Nathan M. Newmark, Ph.D., NAE, Hon.M.ASCE

1979: George F. Sowers, Ph.D., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1980: G. A. Leonards, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, F.ASCE, 

1981: Robert V. Whitman, Sc.D., P.E., NAE, F.ASCE

1982: J. Barry Cooke, Sc.D., NAE

1983: Ronald F. Scott, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1984: James K. Mitchell, Sc.D, P.E., D.GE(Ret.), NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1985: Jorg O. Osterberg, Ph.D., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1986: Charles C. Ladd, Sc.D, P.E., D.GE, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1987: Leonardo E. Zeevaert Wiechers, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1988: Elio D'Appolonia, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Hon.M.ASCE

1989: John H. Schmertmann, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, F.ASCE

1990: James P. Gould, D.Sc., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1991: James M. Duncan, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1992: Norbert R. Morgenstern, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, F.ASCE

1993: John A. Focht, Jr., P.E., Hon.D.GE, NAE, F.ASCE

1994: G. Wayne Clough, Ph.D., P.E., Hon.D.GE, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1995: Roy E. Olson, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, F.ASCE

1996: Robert M. Koerner, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE(Ret.), NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1997: Richard D. Woods, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE(Ret.), NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

1998: Michael W. O'Neill, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

1999: William F. Marcuson, III, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, D.GE, Pres.07.ASCE

2000: Evert Hoek, Ph.D., D.Sc, NAE

2001: Suzanne Lacasse, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, NAE, F.ASCE

2002: Victor Milligan, P.E., F.ASCE

2003: John T. Christian, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

2004: Harry Poulos, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE

2005: Delwyn G. Fredlund, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

2006: Raymond J. Krizek, Ph.D., P.E., Hon.M.ASCE

2007: George G. Goble, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

2008: Jean-Pierre Giroud, Ph.D., M.ASCE

2009: Clyde N. Baker, Jr., P.E., Hon.M.ASCE

2010: Robert D. Holtz, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE

2011: Kenneth H. Stokoe, II, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE

2012: David E. Daniel, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

2013: Alfred J. Hendron, Jr., Ph.D., NAE, M.ASCE

2014: J. Carlos Santamarina, Ph.D., Ing., A.M.ASCE

2015: Donald A. Bruce, Ph.D., D.GE, M.ASCE

2016: Thomas D. O'Rourke, Ph.D., Hon.D.GE, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

2017: R. Kerry Rowe, Ph.D., P.Eng., NAE, F.ASCE

2018: Rudolph Bonaparte, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, NAE, F.ASCE

2019: Izzat M Idriss Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

2020: Edward J. Cording, Ph.D., NAE, M.ASCE

2021: Gregory B. Baecher, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, M.ASCE

2022: Edward Kavazanjian, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, NAE, Dist.M.ASCE