G-I and ASCE is committed to the health and safety of our members and event participants. Details

Skip to main content
tvlasova | Created: 28 Oct 2020 | Updated: 28 Oct 2020
Awards Committee

We are pleased to announce the 2021 winners of the prestigious Geo-Institute awards.

The 2021 Wallace Hayward Baker Award

Vernon R. Schaefer, P.E., M.ASCE, Iowa State University.

“For his outstanding work on promoting and conducting soil improvement technologies and developing the GeoTech Tools as a comprehensive, systematic selection tool”

The 2021 Harry Schnabel Jr. Award for Career Excellence in Earth Retaining Structures

Ernest Brandl, P.E., M.ASCE

“For his work on design and construction of large earth retaining structures including soldier pile, soil nail, and tangent pile walls, as well as for proving that permanent tiebacks could be used in clay soils, and for showing how tall buildings could be successfully supported close to deep excavations.”

The 2021 Carl L. Monismith Lecture

Erol Tutumluer, Ph.D., M.ASCE, University of Illinois

“For his unique contribution to our industry studying practical implications of geotechnical/pavement foundation issues in pavement design and performance, and work on advanced and mechanistic based modeling of geomechanical and pavement systems.”