G-I and ASCE is committed to the health and safety of our members and event participants. Details

Skip to main content
tvlasova | Created: 10 Aug 2020 | Updated: 10 Aug 2020

In honor of the Geo-Institute’s 25th anniversary, G-I Past President Ed Kavazanjian, Jr, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE has generously donated $125,000 to the Geo-Institute for student programs . In addition, Ed has agreed to match up to another $125,000 in contributions from ASCE/G-I members to the Student Participation Fund.

The Student Participation Fund helps geotechnical engineering students attend Geo-Congress every year, supports regional and national student competitions, and more!

Support the Geo-Institute’s Students During our Silver Anniversary Year!

To thank you for your contribution, we are pleased to offer the following gifts:

  • Supporter - $25 and up – commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pin
  • Booster - $250 and up – 25th anniversary Dri-Fit G-I polo shirt and commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pin
  • President’s Circle - $2500 and up – your name in an issue of GEOSTRATA, 25th anniversary Dri-Fit G-I polo shirt, and commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pin


  • Supporter - $2500 – your name in GEOSTRATA, 5 25th anniversary Dri-Fit G-I polo shirt polo shirts, and 5 commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pins
  • President’s Circle - $25000 – recognition at all 2021 Geo-Institute conferences, your name in GEOSTRATA, 10 25th anniversary Dri-Fit G-I polo shirts, and 10 commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pins

To contribute, visit https://sp360.asce.org/PersonifyEbusiness/About-Us/Giving-Opportunities-GI and make your donation today. G-I staff will be in contact with you shortly to thank you and discuss your thank you gift.

Thank you for supporting the next generation of geotechnical engineers!

Edward Kavazanjian Jr., Ph.D., P.E., G.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE, is a Regents Professor and the Ira A. Fulton Professor of Geotechnical at Arizona State University (ASU).  He returned to academia at ASU in August 2004 after 20 years in engineering practice.  He received his Ph.D. degree in Geotechnical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1978 and then was an Assistant Professor at Stanford University for 7 years before going into practice.  His also has Bachelor and Master of Science degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Civil/Geotechnical Engineering. He is internationally recognized for his work on the mechanical properties of municipal solid waste, analysis and design of waste containment systems, geotechnical earthquake engineering, and the emerging field of biogeotechnical engineering.  In February 2013 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in recognition of his contributions to design of waste containment systems and geotechnical earthquake engineering.  In August 2015, he became director of the Center for Bio-mediated and Bio-inspired Geotechnics (CBBG), a 3rd Generation National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center headquartered at ASU.

Professor Kavazanjian has been active with ASCE and the Geo-Institute (and before that the Geotechnical Engineering Division) throughout his career, on both the local and national level, starting as a student member while at MIT. On the national level, he also served for seven years on the Geo-Institute Board of Governors, including a term as President, as chair of the Geo-Institute Technical Coordination Council and Embankments Dams and Slopes Committee, and as chair of the Geotechnical Division Reliability and Safety Committee. On the local level, he served on the Board of the Los Angeles Section Geotechnical Group for six years, including a term as president, the Continuing Education Committee of the Metropolitan Section for three years, and the San Francisco Section Board of Governors for five years. He was elected a Distinguished Member of ASCE, the Society’s highest honor, in 2018.  He is the recipient of the 2011 Karl Terzaghi Award, the 2010 Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award, and the 2009 Ralph B. Peck Award from ASCE.