G-I and ASCE is committed to the health and safety of our members and event participants. Details

Skip to main content

Student Participation Fund

Join the 96 Club!

G-I 96 Club

We’re happy to bring you a new way to support to the Student Participation Fund: The 96 Club, named after 1996, the year the G-I was founded. Become a member by contributing $96 (or more) to the fund. Every year you’re a member, you’ll receive that year’s members-only thank you gift.

This year, when you join the 96 Club as a founding member, you’ll receive our 2021-22 gift: a bobblehead statuette of Karl Terzaghi! The bobblehead, which stands around 6” high, is exclusive to the G-I and sculpted to our specifications. You’ll also receive a 96 Club membership pin. Join the 96 Club Today!




Support the Geo-Institute’s Students During our Silver Anniversary Year!

In honor of the Geo-Institute’s 25th anniversary, G-I Past President Ed Kavazanjian, Jr, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE will match up to a total of $125,000 in contributions to the Geo-Institute Student Participation Fund.

The Student Participation Fund helps geotechnical engineering students attend Geo-Congress, supports regional and national student competitions, and more!

G-I Shield logo with scroll reading 1996-2021, in front of large numeral 25, all in shades of silver

Please donate to the Student Fund today.  To thank you for your contribution, we are pleased to offer the following gifts:


For Individuals  

Supporter - $25 and up – commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pin  

Booster - $250 and up – 25th anniversary G-I polo shirt and commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pin  

President’s Circle - $2500 and up – your name in an issue of GEOSTRATA, 25th anniversary G-I polo shirt, and commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pin 

For Organizations  

Supporter - $2500 – your organization's name in GEOSTRATA, five 25th anniversary G-I polo shirts, and five commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pins  

President’s Circle - $25000 – recognition at all 2021 Geo-Institute conferences, your organization's name in GEOSTRATA, ten 25th anniversary G-I polo shirts, and ten commemorative 25th anniversary Geo-Institute pins

You can contribute to the Fund

Thank you for supporting the next generation of geotechnical engineers! 

About Edward Kavazanjian, Jr., Ph.D., P.E., G.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE

Photo of Ed Kavazanian. He is speaking at a lectern and wearing the medal of an ASCE Distinguished Member on a red and yellow neck ribbon
Ed Kavazanjian at the ASCE 2018 Convention, wearing the medal of a Distinguished Member

Ed Kavazanjian is a Regents Professor and the Ira A. Fulton Professor of Geotechnical Engineering at Arizona State University (ASU). His Bachelor and Master of Science degrees are from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Civil/Geotechnical Engineering. He received his Ph.D. degree in Geotechnical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1978 and was an Assistant Professor at Stanford University for seven years before going into engineering practice.

In February 2013 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in recognition of his contributions to design of waste containment systems and geotechnical earthquake engineering. In August 2015, he became director of the Center for Bio-mediated and Bio-inspired Geotechnics (CBBG), a 3rd Generation National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center headquartered at ASU.

Professor Kavazanjian has been active with ASCE and the Geo-Institute (and the G-I’s predecessor, the Geotechnical Engineering Division) throughout his career, on both the local and national level, starting as a Student member at MIT.

Dr. Kavazanjian has shown distinction in the field of geotechnical engineering and served on several ASCE Boards:

  • Seven years on the Geo-Institute Board of Governors, including a term as President.
  • Chair of the Geo-Institute Technical Coordination Council and the Embankments Dams and Slopes Committee, and as chair of the Geotechnical Division Reliability and Safety Committee.
  • Six years on the Board of the Los Angeles Section Geotechnical Group, including a term as president; the Continuing Education Committee of the Metropolitan Section for three years; and the San Francisco Section Board of Governors for five years.

He was elected a Distinguished Member of ASCE, the Society’s highest honor, in 2018. He is the recipient of the 2011 Karl Terzaghi Award, the 2010 Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award, and the 2009 Ralph B. Peck Award.